The American Classical Music Hall Of Fame offers a complimentary smartphone application for playing inductee music through your phone and also through Washington Park’s PA system.

Download Android Player Download Player On iOS No, thank you. Just take me to the website.

View Inductees

Glass, Philip

Glass, Philip

Born in 1937


Inducted in 2011

Phillip Glass, born in Baltimore, Maryland, is a graduate of the University of Chicago and the Juilliard School. In the early 1960s, Glass spent two years of intensive study in Paris with Nadia Boulanger. Upon his return to New York, he applied Eastern techniques to his own music. By 1974, Glass had a number of significant and innovative projects, creating a large collection of new music for his performing group, the Philip Glass Ensemble, and for the Mabou Mines Theater Company, which he co-founded. This period culminated in Music in Twelve Parts, followed by the landmark opera, Einstein on the Beach, 1976. Since Einstein, Glass has expanded his repertoire to include music for opera, dance, theater, chamber ensemble, orchestra, and film. His score for Martin Scorsese's Kundun received an Academy Award nomination while his score for Peter Weir’s The Truman Show won him a Golden Globe. His film score for Stephen Daldry’s The Hours received Golden Globe, Grammy, and Academy Award nominations, along with winning a BAFTA in Film Music. The acclaimed films The Illusionist and Notes on a Scandal were released last year, with Notes earning Glass an Oscar nomination for best original score. In 2004 Glass premiered the new work Orion—as part of the cultural celebration of the 2004 Olympics in Greece, and his Piano Concerto No. 2 (After Lewis and Clark) with the Omaha Symphony Orchestra. Glass’ latest symphonies, Symphony No. 7 and Symphony No. 8, premiered in 2005 with the National Symphony Orchestra at the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts in Washington, DC, and Bruckner Orchester Linz at the Brooklyn Academy of Music, respectively. 2005 also saw the premiere of Waiting for the Barbarians. Glass’ most recent opera premiered in September 2009 in Linz, Austria and was brought to New York in November 2009 by The Brooklyn Academy of Music. His Symphony #9 was completed in 2011 and will be premiered in Linz, Austria in January 1, 2012. Symphony #10 has been completed this spring and will receive its European premiere in France in the summer of 2012.


Audio Tour

Courtesy of WGUC 90.9 FM